7 Mantras To Help You Out Of Any Rut

I spent eight years climbing the corporate ladder, working in advertising as a senior art director on huge accounts like Frito-Lay, Coca Cola and Cover Girl. It seemed glamorous, but the fast-paced life caught up to me and resulted in severe depression. Some days it got so bad, I would cry in the bathroom at work. I knew something needed to change. It was painful to pretend to be someone else. What I really wanted was to be free to work from anywhere in the world; free to explore other cultures while sharing my experiences with others.

Three years ago I left behind that secure corporate job to venture out and follow my heart, to become a travel writer. Although the corporate grind proved unfulfilling for me, the lessons I learned were irreplaceable.

Today, I'm more successful and more fulfilled than I ever imagined possible. As a life coach, I work with people in transition — people just like the person I used to be — who are hoping to find happiness in their line of work or to follow my lead and find the courage to branch out into something new and exciting.

The first step to creating a new life is to accept and appreciate where you are. Once I turned my advertising frown upside down, I was able to see miraculous shifts occur.

Although my office has changed, I’ve found the lessons I learned in advertising can be applied to many problems I’ve encountered in my life. I found that solving problems creatively can help in myriad ways. For starters, I no longer sweat the small stuff. I see how everything is connected, and that the best cure for a bad day is patience, trust, and compassion.

I have created a go-to list and mantras to help me get out of any rut. Although I learned them in my corporate advertising career, it’s amazing how they apply even today. Maybe you're felling stuck or are having a bad day; perhaps these tips can help.

1. Everything is connected.