Advertisement
This ad is displayed using third party content and we do not control its accessibility features.
Close Banner
Advertisement
This ad is displayed using third party content and we do not control its accessibility features.

9 Easy Ways To Reconnect In Your Relationship

Gina Senarighi, MFT
Author:
October 19, 2020
Gina Senarighi, MFT
By Gina Senarighi, MFT
mbg Contributor
Gina Senarighi, MFT, is a relationship coach, couples counselor, sex educator, blogger, and communication trainer who inspires couples to be even stronger together.
October 19, 2020

As a couples therapist, I've learned a lot about marriages and relationships. Time and time again, I've seen these simple truths challenge almost every couple I work with. These essential lessons truly can make or break a relationship:

Don’t wait to ask for help.

Almost every couple I see tells me the problems they're facing started small six months to six years ago. By the time they see me, they're almost ready to walk out the door. It’s like going to the dentist for the first time late in life. It’s not impossible to help resolve concerns, but it sure would be easier if they came in earlier, before all the build-up, when things were smaller, to get help.

Say you’re sorry more.

So many of us forget this very simple step: we overlook the impact of a meaningful, heartfelt apology. Maybe we think we have said it, but never really did in a way that could be heard by our sweetheart. Saying, “I’m sorry” and meaning it can be a critical step in sustaining a relationship long term.

Being right doesn’t matter as much as being in love.

Lots of the couples I see have locked horns about an issue and have been in a standoff for too long. Ultimately being right just isn’t important. What matters is what you want for your future.

Connect with feelings.