A Beginner's Guide To The 7 Chakras

Written by Yogi Cameron

Image by Clique Images / Stocksy

The seven chakras are the main energy centers of the body. Think of them as pathways that promote harmony between the body, mind, and spirit. Blocked energy in our seven chakras (illustrated in the image below) can lead to distress, so it's important to understand what each one represents and what we can do to keep it open and flowing freely.

Photo: mbg Creative

Here's a quick summary of the seven chakras:

1. Root Chakra

The root chakra (Muladhara) represents our foundation. It anchors us and gives us the feeling of being grounded. When the root chakra is open, we feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges and stand on our own two feet. When it's blocked, we feel threatened and unstable.

  • Location: Base of spine, in tailbone area
  • Associated Themes & Emotions: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food
Article continues below

2. Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra (Swadhisthana) helps inform how we relate to our emotions and the emotions of others. An open sacral chakra also governs creativity and sexual energy.

  • Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel
  • Associated Themes & Emotions: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra (Manipura) speaks to your ability to be confident and in control of your life. Think back to the last time you had butterflies or felt a pit in the stomach: That's the Manipura chakra at work.

  • Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area
  • Associated Themes & Emotions: Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem
Article continues below

4. Heart Chakra

The heart chakra (Anahata) is one of the most important chakras since it connects the bottom three chakras (associated with materiality) with the top three ones (associated with spirituality). As the name suggests, this chakra can influence our ability to give and receive love—from others and ourselves.

  • Location: Center of chest, just above the heart
  • Associated Themes & Emotions: Love, joy, and inner peace

5. Throat Chakra

The throat chakra (Vishuddha) gives voice to the heart chakra and controls our ability to communicate. When it's functioning at full capacity, it allows us to express ourselves truly and clearly.

  • Location: Throat
  • Associated Themes & Emotions: Communication, self-expression, and truth
Article continues below

6. Third-Eye Chakra

The third-eye chakra (Ajna) speaks to our ability to see the big picture and connect to intuition. Think of it as the eye of the soul: It registers information beyond the surface level. As we move up the body, we're getting closer to communion with the divine.

  • Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra)
  • Associated Themes & Emotions: Intuition, imagination, and wisdom

7. Crown Chakra

The crown chakra (Samsara), the highest chakra, represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. When you fully open your crown chakra, you're thought to access a higher consciousness—something very few people ever do!

  • Location: The very top of the head
  • Associated Themes & Emotions: Inner and outer beauty, spiritual connection
Yogi Cameron
Yogi Cameron
Yogi Cameron left the world of high fashion to pursue the Yogic path in India, and has studied...
Read More
More from the author:
Balance & Align Your Chakras To Increase Your Health And Find Your Purpose
Check out Chakras 101
Join guru Yogi Cameron for the spiritual journey of a lifetime and learn to open your chakras to live with more meaning.
View the class
Yogi Cameron
Yogi Cameron
Yogi Cameron left the world of high fashion to pursue the Yogic path...
Read More

More On This Topic

The Ultimate Guide To Plant-Based Nutrition
More Mindfulness

Popular Stories

Latest Articles

Latest Articles

Sites We Love

Your article and new folder have been saved!