Months ago, something odd, and kind of unexpected, happened. And it changed my entire life: I decided I didn't want to follow the job I studied for, the job I was prepared for, the job I was told to take. I decided to change my career.

For some of you reading this, you possibly can't even imagine changing your career, even if you're extremely dissatisfied with it. Even if you were thinking about an alternative career, you would probably respond to yourself by telling yourself things like, "I have grad school loans to pay" or "I have a family to take care of." These are all valid reasons not to leave your job.

But maybe you want to change careers because you are like me: afraid of what life would look like if you followed what others told you was right versus what you're truly passionate about.

Fortunately for you, the new year gives us an opportunity to reassess what's working for us and what's not in all areas of our lives. As you look at your current job, it's up to you to decide whether you want to stay on track or change course with this new year.

If you're sitting in your chair wondering whether you should quit your job in exchange for doing what you love, here are a few signs you should leave what you're doing in the new year.

ADVERTISEMENT

1. You believe you're stuck.

Well, imagine this: you won't feel stuck while doing what you love. When you're taking action on things that are actually a part of a life-vision you're truly passionate about, you keep moving, sometimes without even thinking too much about it, as you are filled with motivation and a sense of striving. There is a sense of forward movement, and it feels organic.

But if you feel stuck, like you're life isn't moving or going anywhere, you're not invested in the vision you're working for. If you feel stuck, you're probably not where you're supposed to be.

2. You burn out easily.