I was the reason my wife of 14 years and I separated. I could try to convince you otherwise, and probably do a good job (I’m a writer), but I will be honest and say that I was a jerk for most of those 14 years. We got married the day after I turned 18 and were determined to beat the stats on young marriages that end up in divorce.

Throughout most of those 14 years, I struggled with many personal demons. I had an unhealthy love of eating and gained 170 pounds. I was horrible with money and got our family into major (read: $180,000) debt. I woke up every day to work a job I hated with every fiber of my being. All of these circumstances were my own doing, but I took them out on my wife.

I told you I was a jerk.

In 2011, my wife told me that she had had enough, and we separated. I moved in with a friend and was still too selfish to realize the most precious thing in my life was slipping away. It took me the entire rest of that year to realize this, but after a year of separation, I ultimately knew that I had to wake up. I had to stop making excuses.

When I initially had the sense that I needed to change several months into our separation, I called my wife and begged her to come home. She wasn’t convinced. We did end up reconciling at the end of one year, but only after I learned these three lessons:

ADVERTISEMENT

1. Ignoring my problems would not make them any less acute.

Year after year I tried to pretend life was good or that at some other point in my life, I would “get it together.” That day never seemed to come, and the problems got bigger. The first step in fixing any problem is acknowledging the problem exists. In relationships, a lot of times the problem is with us, not our partner.