Advertisement
This ad is displayed using third party content and we do not control its accessibility features.
Close Banner
Advertisement
This ad is displayed using third party content and we do not control its accessibility features.

8 Things I Say Most Often To My Therapy Clients

Margaret Paul, Ph.D.
Author:
May 09, 2014
Margaret Paul, Ph.D.
Co-Founder of Inner Bonding
By Margaret Paul, Ph.D.
Co-Founder of Inner Bonding
Margaret Paul, Ph.D., is a best-selling author, relationship expert, and Inner Bonding® facilitator.
May 09, 2014

I've been working with clients for 46 years, so of course, there are things I say over and over — even to the same person and even in the same session! That's because there are certain things we each need to pay attention to, over and over.

The process that I use is called Inner Bonding, which teaches people how to love themselves. As loving themselves becomes a way of life, their anxiety, depression, guilt, shame, anger, fear, addictions and relationships gradually heal.

Here's what I say most often to my clients:

1. Breathe.

I encourage my clients to breathe into their body, following their breath, using breath to help get present in their body, with their feelings. I ask them to scan their body, noticing, without judgment, their physical and emotional feelings.

2. Find a place within you that is willing to explore how you might be creating some of your painful feelings.

When we haven't learned how to take responsibility for our feelings, then we avoid them in four major ways — all which are self-rejecting:

• We judge ourselves harshly, causing shame. Often, we would rather feel shame than feel the painful feelings of life, such as loneliness, heartbreak, grief or helplessness over others and events. We hope that, by judging ourselves, we can have control over getting ourselves to do things "right" so that others will like us and give us the love we're not giving to ourselves.