26 Reasons Boston Is Special To Me

I’m originally from Boston. But after the tragic events at the Marathon this week, I feel like I am Boston. I was born at Beth Israel Hospital and spent my early days living on the Watertown-Belmont line, just a block away from the biggest ice cream cones in town at Rancatore’s. When it was time for school my parents moved to Newton, where I attended Newton North High School, wore green Doc Martens, died my hair blue with Manic Panic, and rode the T for over an hour just to hang out with the punk kids in the “Pit” center of Harvard Square.

From 2000-2004, I was a student at Emerson College and Berklee School of Music where I lived on the corner of Boylston and Tremont Street in the “Little Building” before moving to my favorite place on earth, Central Square, Cambridge. They say, “I left my heart in San Francisco,” well, I live in San Francisco and I left my heart all over Boston (and Cambridge too!).

Originally, I was calling this piece, “26 Reasons to Love Boston, Today and Everyday,” in honor of the 26 miles in the marathon. But as I was writing, someone sent me another blog that had just been posted with almost the same title. Instantly, I freaked out and did what I always do when I freak out: I got personal. So rather than reading another article about why the Freedom Trail is wonderful (which it is) and how great the Red Sox are (because they are), here’s a list of 26 of my favorite things about my hometown.

1. The local music scene.