11 Hidden Sources Of Gluten

Written by Alejandra Carrasco, M.D.
Alejandra Carrasco, M.D., is an integrative and functional medicine physician, best-selling author of Bloom, and founder of Nourish Medicine, a root-cause resolution integrative and functional medicine practice in Austin, Texas. She received her Master's from the University of Texas Health Science Center.

Navigating the world of gluten-free eating can be daunting, especially when you are just starting out. The premise of gluten-free eating is very simple: if you stick to whole, unprocessed foods and avoid wheat, barley, rye and all their derivatives, then you’re golden.

However, easy as it may seem to get a simple, whole foods meal when you go out to eat, you will quickly learn that you have to be on your A-game in order to ensure that you don’t accidently get some gluten onto your plate.

Remember, if you are gluten intolerant, you need to stay away from gluten 100% of the time. Here are a few foods that you need to be extra vigilant about when you go out to eat:

1. Scrambled Eggs: Some restaurants add pancake batter to their scrambled eggs to make them fluffier.

2. Fish/Seafood: Sometimes fish and seafood is dusted with flour to keep it from sticking to a cooking surface.

3. Vegetables: They could be steamed in the same water that is used to prepare/reheat pasta.

4. Soups: The soup base, or roux, is often made from a flour base.

5. Potato chips and tortilla chips: These are often contaminated with gluten when they are prepared in a fryer that is used to fry other breaded and battered foods.

6. French fries: Can be coated with a flour mixture, and just like chips, they some often contaminated with gluten when they are fried in a fryer that is used to fry other breaded and battered foods.

7. Crab: Make sure to eat real crab!! Real crab is gluten-free, imitation crab often is not.

8. Sauces: Oftentimes, the base of sauces are made with a roué, which uses flour. Other sauces, like soy sauce and teriyaki sauce typically contained fermented wheat.

9. Burgers/Meatballs/Meatloaf: Breadcrumbs are often added to burgers, meatballs, and meatloaf.

10. Mashed potatoes: Flour is sometimes added to mashed potatoes as a thickening agent.

11. Vegan meat substitutes: Vegan meats products are often made from wheat.

Make sure that you talk with the restaurant manager to find gluten-free items on the menu before ordering. Remember to tell the manager or chef that both the meal AND its preparation must be gluten-free.

Ready to learn more about how to unlock the power of food to heal your body, prevent disease & achieve optimal health? Register now for our FREE web class with nutrition expert Kelly LeVeque.

More On This Topic

Food Fundamentals

Popular Stories

Latest Articles

Latest Articles

Sites We Love

Your article and new folder have been saved!