5 Secrets of the Wholehearted

I've written recently about how Dr. Brene Brown, a research professor at the University of Houston Graduate College of Social Work, and the leading expert on vulnerability, held a TEDTalk in Houston in 2010 that changed the way I live, love, practice and teach yoga.

What Dr. Brown has found, through her decade-plus years of research on the topic, is that people she calls "wholehearted"-- those who have embraced vulnerability as a key emotion in their existence -- share a few common characteristics.

Here are 5 secrets of the wholehearted:

1. They know that love and belonging are what give purpose to our lives. 

The absence of love and belonging is what leads to suffering. After I graduated from college I made a drastic move from a small farm town in southeast Wisconsin to the beautiful Hill Country of Texas, and as you can imagine, it took a while before I felt comfortable.

During that time, though, the most difficult part for me wasn't the countless job interviews and resume re-writes and first-day-of-new-jobs. The most difficult part for me was that at the end of the day, I didn't have my friends there to talk to; to vent and celebrate, and share stories about my crazy new boss and coworkers.

I was lucky to have my immediate family close, but all of people who I was used to having actively participate in my life were thousands of miles away. It wasn't until months later, when I found a group of friends who I felt connected with, that I finally began to feel like I belonged.

2. The wholehearted believe that they are worthy of love and belonging. 

You are worthy of love and belonging! Isn't that exciting?! I bet you can think at least one person in your life who would agree, and probably a whole lot more than that.