7 Ways to Keep Your Relationship Strong

I have been with my partner for ten years. That’s an entire decade. I’m 28-years-old, so that’s over a third of my life, and when I think about the expanse of time, I’m in complete awe. We have grown together in so many ways and have witnessed each other becoming the people we are meant to be. We have experienced the carefree nature of our college years; being miles apart when I studied in Barcelona; doing long distance when I took my first job in Minneapolis; and Skyping via a choppy connection all the way from India.

Through all the physical distance we have encountered, we have been forced to learn clear and open communication. This has brought us closer as humans, partners and lovers. We have learned to never waste an opportunity to connect, to always share what’s on our minds and to be vulnerable in front of each other. We have learned the art of spoken word, physical touch and silence. We have learned the power of honesty, forgiveness and unconditional love.

How do we establish connection when we work a 9-5, work out afterwards, eat a healthy dinner, and try to be in bed for eight hours of sleep? The good news is you can make connection a priority in your daily life no matter your current situation; you just have to be willing. I have identified seven techniques that help my partner and I stop daily and appreciate the moments we have together, whether it’s a few seconds in between the hustle and bustle of our jobs and social activities or the few hours we spend on a date. These tips can work for friends and family as well:

1. Make a 5-second connection – every day, we embrace with both arms wrapped around each other for at least 5 seconds. There have been studies that show an embrace of this duration can ease stress and tension. Our partners don’t deserve the back-lash from our crazy work day, so find a way to relax and let go.