5 Tips for Beginner Yogis

As an owner of a busy yoga studio in Central New Jersey, I have enjoyed seeing thousands of people come through our doors to practice this fine, ancient art. Many of our visitors are brand new to yoga, having been sent to us by an acquaintance, a doctor, or simply drawn in by an inner urge. Regardless of what brings our new friends to our front desk, they almost always have one thing in common: nerves and anxiety about beginning. This is natural and understandable. To be a “beginner” at any thing, especially as an adult, is a daunting thing. Who wants to be the only person in the room who doesn’t know what they are doing? If you are just beginning your journey in yoga, or you have been flirting with the idea but are apprehensive to begin, then here are five tips that will help:

1) Ditch the inner critic

I am not flexible.
I don’t know the names of postures.
I am not “good” at yoga.
I have never done this before.
I will look stupid.
I cannot balance.
I cannot concentrate.

You get the idea. Our gorgeously active minds have a seemingly inexhaustible ability to churn out negative and limiting thoughts. But, this is the thing: the reason you go to a yoga class or studio is to learn and practice safely. Nobody expects you to arrive already flexible, perfected, focused and experienced! That’s why you find a teacher and take a class to begin with, and then another and then another. Pay zero attention to the endless monologue in your head that gives you 101 reasons why you should NOT do yoga. You only need one reason and one prequalification to do yoga, and that is an earnest desire to do it, period, the end. The rest is just static.

2) Remember, no one is watching you