Last summer, I spent long afternoons knee deep in bean stalks and blackberry brambles, with a basket full of fresh-picked fruits and vegetables at my side. I was a poor college student, and was struggling to eat three meals a day. I offered to volunteer at a local farm because I heard that they repaid workers with a week's worth of produce. I needed to eat, and they needed help; so without hesitation, I signed up.

The farm was smaller than I expected - a few rows of melons, beans, squash, and tomatoes, a coop of squirming hens, and a couple of lazy sheep. Volunteering on a farm opened the door to a revolutionary time in my life - a time of discovering sustainability, the organic movement, and the appreciation for a simpler existence. If you give it a try, it might do the same (and more) for you!

1. Farming is excellent exercise and experience. Bending down, standing up, squatting, hoeing, raking, digging. Too often we don't realize how much work goes into the production of our food until we've tended to the Earth ourselves. You learn to appreciate your food more; you learn where it comes from, and how it's grown. You begin to understand the delicate balance of the soil, and the importance of the sun. With this new knowledge, you will appreciate your plate whenever you eat.

2. You will experience serene beauty. There's something magnificent about golden, afternoon sunlight splaying wide over tall grasses. The silence of a vegetable patch and a fruit tree grove is like nothing else you will experience. You can hear the plants growing. You can hear the wind nestling between branches and leaves. Meditate here. Take time to think, to reflect, to dream of the future. It's not often that we have this simple serenity.