5 Signs Your Yoga Business Is in Trouble (And 5 Things You Can Do!)

When I left my corporate job in 2003 and went to work full time as a yoga teacher, I tried my best to make the financial aspect work. After 3 years, I had built up a significant amount of debt and made the decision to go back to the corporate workplace and dig myself out. It was a hard lesson to learn but I promised myself that if I worked as a full-time teacher again, I’d do things differently.

Back then, I didn’t see the “red flags” that should have alerted me that my business was in danger. Now, in my second incarnation of full time yoga teaching, I’m trying to be more aware of signs that things aren’t working and trying to get ahead of them by taking some proactive steps.

Red flags:

1. You have a business loan or other source of savings to “use in emergencies” and you’re using it to pay your monthly bills.

When you first get started as a yoga teacher, it can take a few months to build up a full-time teaching schedule. If you haven’t done this while working full or part-time, you may have a period of time where you are unable to meet your basic living expenses with your teaching income. A business loan might be a source of money that could help you bridge this gap. However, if you find that you are always withdrawing from this source every month, for more than 12 consecutive months, you need to look at your expenses and revenue and determine what you can do to increase revenue. Otherwise, you will simply be working and building up debt at the same time. If you do decide to get a loan, look very closely at the terms. Many can be “interest only” loans, meaning your payment each month is only going to interest and none to principal.

2. You’re teaching 3 classes a day, 5 days a week and you are unable to pay your bills.