5 Unexpected Things Yoga Will Teach You

When I first began practicing yoga ten years ago, I was a listless college student with limited body awareness and zero athletic ability. Toward the beginning of my journey a teacher said, "You want all the benefits of the practice, but you don't want to do the work to get there," which devastated me but also prompted me to dig deep and start to "do the work."

Through yoga we discover a deep inner strength paired with the knowledge that we can accomplish anything, and that power extends to all areas of our lives. Here are a few of the lessons yoga will teach you:

1) The words "I can't" literally do not exist.

Last week a friend told me about transitioning to a raw diet. Immediately I said, "I could never do that," assuming I don't possess the kitchen skills or knowledge possible. The next morning I woke up and decided to hit the farmer's market armed with a handful of raw recipes. After an incredible time in the kitchen, some amazing dishes (and a few not so successful!), I came to realize the words "I can't" literally do not exist. "I can't" is a figment of our imagination and a bragging of our inability to see possibility. Yoga will teach you that you CAN and you WILL - but only if you're willing to try!

2) You'll turn off the 24/7 news cycle.

As yogis I believe it is important to stay active and involved in our communities, putting our votes to action, and taking a stand for change. It is also important to step away from the drama and resist becoming enraptured in the current climate of fear. As Max Strom and Jack Kornfield teach, your practice will guide you to turn off the news and turn on Mozart. If a tremendous event takes place, you'll hear about it. In the meantime, get informed, step back on your mat, and step away from the frenzy. Your ability to hold a steady space will inspire others to move into activism with compassion, steadiness, and positivity.