I love practicing yoga. I love learning about yoga. I must admit, however, that sometimes I get into a discouraged slump with my practice. Whether it's because I can't practice as often due to a sinus infection, a busy work schedule or a “forced” timeout to recover from an injury, I can be grumpy and miss my practice.

As I return to my mat, I sometimes discover that I have lost some ground in my balancing poses or a bind. While I know I am supposed to be practicing enlightenment, not caring about perfect or wobbling poses, I feel discouraged. Oops! I'm studying to be a yoga teacher. If that is so, I should know what to say to myself and to a student who tells me this.

Teacher, learn your lesson. I've had ample opportunity to learn and practice this lesson the last few months following an injury which took my body time to heal, not my “three weeks and I should be right back to where I was time schedule.” Here are several useful reflections you may choose to use if or when a student tells you he or she is discouraged about their lack of progress or overall yoga practice:

1.) Thank you for honoring me with your truth and feelings. You are accepting the student's situation, no judgment. Simple acceptance with appreciation.

2.) May I mention to you that this is likely a short phase or stage in your yoga growth and practice? I definitely suggest asking if you can go down this line of reasoning. By asking, you allow the student to shape where they need further words or encouragement, rather than saying words which they shut off.

3.) You are continuing with your practice by continuing to come to class. Support the action of coming to class and use the word "practice,” a reminder that yoga is a series of practices, not one big final flow of perfect poses which gets showier every day.