5 Tips to Introduce Mindfulness in the Classroom

I started practicing yoga asana the same year I started teaching elementary students. It took about six years of teaching and practicing yoga separately before I realized how much the yoga would be of benefit to my students as well.

About five years ago I started to provide more ways for children to practice mindfulness and relaxation in the school setting. A couple of years ago my teaching partner and I started simply including a mini savasana at the end of gym time to help calm the children before returning to class. We then started to incorporate various asanas into our gym time, challenging children to develop their sense of balance and strength and flexibility. Recently, I’ve been using yoga during transitions and during the “regular” part of the school day. I have found this has changed the way children interact with each other and improved their ability to regulate themselves.

Here are the top five things I’ve found helpful for introducing yoga and mindfulness in the classroom.

1. Asana breaks. Teach children a few simple asanas (and their benefits), and give them permission to move into a pose when they think it will help. For example, I have one child in my class who likes to take a few breaths in a warrior pose when he finds it challenging to finish printing practice. Sometimes another student will notice another child doing a yoga posture and decide to join-in for five breaths as well. The children decide the criteria for when it is appropriate to do yoga in class, and when someone needs to move or balance or stretch – they do!

2. Balance and Breathing. When children are lining up (for gym class, recess, lunch, home-time, music, etc.), encourage them to try some balancing postures (tree is a favorite in my class) and then some deep belly breaths to relax.