I've been teaching yoga for about three years now, and I've been practicing for about eight. My journey began as a pretty mellow interest in yoga as a lifestyle, with small ups and downs. I liked it, I always came back to it, but it hadn't really grabbed me yet. Yoga ebbed and flowed with the rest of my life until one year, when my life path was taking twists and turns—when I found myself feeling uprooted in more ways than I could have imagined—yoga changed.

Suddenly, my yoga was no longer just a physical practice; my yoga changed to a life path.  And just like that, yoga exploded into my life in a whole new way. Within a year, I was a teacher. And within months of becoming certified, I was beginning a mentoring program and teaching in two studios in Chicago. And I was ecstatic!

As many of you know who have caught the "yoga bug,” once it really takes a hold of you, and it really reaches its height, its presence in your life can often not be imitated or replaced. But despite this significant place it holds for those who truly love it, we still might experience ups and downs in our connection to the practice that first stole our hearts. If you find your passion for your practice is dwindling, try following these 5 tips to get back to your yoga:

1. Go back to your roots. Start taking that beginner level class you took when you first started practicing yoga. Spend this time practicing your breath and your abdominal locks. Make your effort strong, purposeful, and focused inward. Reconnect with your inner yogi. Instead of the practice being about mastering an asana or reaching your physical edge, make it more about your inward journey through class.