I hear any number of reasons why people have trepidation stepping into a yoga studio and onto their mats. Trying something new, especially one with such stigma surrounding it, allows the mind to stir and fantasize about how that experience may or may not turn out for you: a beginner. While I understand the hesitation and doubt, as a teacher I can only strongly recommend you move beyond your preconceived notions, your judgment about yourself as a student, your assumptions about teachers and avid practitioners, and simply go in with an open mind, a dose of humility, and dare I say excitement. Trying new things improves all around functioning within the brain, body, heart and soul. Commit to taking at least 5 classes in the next 6 weeks, making it a point to take class with different teachers, maybe even carving out a short practice at home, and then decide whether to proceed. Until then, beware of these popular stereotypes and misnomers, move out of your mind and into the moment. 

1. “I’m not flexible,” is the excuse I hear most often. 

We see images of boneless, pretzel-like human beings, with limbs in indecipherable places, and we assume because we are nowhere near capable of that level of openness that we must throw the baby out with the bathwater. I often remind my students they wouldn’t pick up a guitar for the first time and expect to play like Eric Clapton (hopefully this isn’t an outdated reference!). The same truth applies with yoga. Yoga brings flexibility (and many other benefits) to and from you, not the other way around. Be patient and consistent and you won’t want to look back.  

2. Yoga will turn me into a hippie.