30 Rock Abs: 8 Yoga & Pilates Exercises I Used for My Guest Appearance

I moved to Manhattan from Pocatello, Idaho 18 years ago to pursue my dream of becoming an actress. In the early 90’s at NYU Tisch School of the Arts, I discovered yoga and soon my career path was heading a very different direction. I started teaching yoga and Pilates after I graduated to support my acting career.

I was booking more teaching gigs than acting jobs. I also found myself wanting to spend more time in the yoga and fitness community. Eventually, teaching yoga and Pilates became my full time job and I decided to let my acting pursuits go.

Then an awesome opportunity came along to audition for a role on 30 Rock. I went in to read my lines and sure enough, I booked the role. I was to play opposite Jason Sudekis as his fiancée, Katilin, a ‘yogarobics’ instructor and ab-model. Every outfit I wore (even my wedding dress!) showed my abs. In order to prepare for the filming, I just amped up my yoga and Pilates practice and concentrated on these key exercises

Seated Spinal Twist

Sit tall and fold your right leg underneath you placing your left foot outside your right knee. Wrap your right elbow outside your left knee and use your abdominals to twist to the left. With every inhalation, imagine growing taller, with every exhalation imagine twisting deeper. Twists are great for detoxification and toning the abdominal region.

Finish with a seated forward bend,  inversion or final relaxation and concentrate on the power from your center and feel your abs getting stronger and more toned.

When it came time to shoot my episodes, I relied on my ujayii breathing and the support of my inner girdle Pilates muscles to feel relaxed and confident.

Arrow Created with Sketch. Article continues below

Boat Pose