Do you dream of opening up your own yoga studio someday? Or maybe you already own one? If so, then you'll want to read this:)

1. One step at a time. We tend to want what everyone else has and forget that they got there somehow too. As a business owner, I constantly remind myself that you can only get where you are going if you first learn to be where you are. Lately I have been consulting new studio owners, mainly through unexpected referral and the advice I keep discussing is the advice of just this. We all want it now, and for that 1% that it works out that way - great, but for the rest of us I would rather know what I am doing, see my hard work paying off and gain some credibility towards my own being and branding, than ride someone else’s. So, do take it slow, do take it one step at a time and instead of constantly tripping over everyone else’s coat tails, slowly grow your own. Take that extra few moments (or even months or years) to discover what you are all about, to develop your brand, your being.

2. Live within your means. Some may not agree, but to me, I have proven this in my own business. We all see the “big picture” and that is great, but if it costs you literally an arm and a leg, your dinner, and debt until the cows come home or worse personal crisis - is it really worth it? I am not saying yes or no, but rather offering up the question. This means you may have to wait a few weeks, months even years to get what you “really” want, but as a yogi this sometimes means that it’s not your time anyway, and if you “wait” you could be really getting what you need in the end.