5 Reasons Why Maya Angelou Is My Yoga Mentor

I had the honor of seeing Dr. Maya Angelou recently and although I knew I'd walk away in awe of this renowned and influential woman, a woman who is a world famous author, poet, historian, actress, scholar and activist, I had no idea that she would help me deepen my yoga practice.

As a yoga teacher, I struggle sometimes to help my students connect the body and mind, in a way that is beyond a "tight tush with good vibes as you bend" and sometimes I am challenged when I teach teachers, to help them to see how they are not above their students, but equal to, yet they must serve as a beacon of light at the same time. For both of these situations and, in my own personal practice, a surprising yoga guru that I found within Dr. Maya Angelou inspired me and I want to share this with students, teachers and non-yogis. Let me state that I say "non-yogi" loosely. I think anyone living a yogic lifestyle is a yogi to me, not just the people who are beginning with or take ownership to the asana portion of the limbs.

Here is what I learned, how she inspired me, and why she is my yoga mentor.

1. We are all holding clouds and light, and that means we all have a rainbow to share. We've all had struggles, we've all had hope and overcame something. In this, we learned how to develop a rainbow. Share our stories of developing rainbows. When you see someone who appears to only feel their clouds, lend your light to them, and be that rainbow to them. As Dr. Angelou says, it could be the color of your dress that inspires them, or how you strut, or what you say to them to help them. Everything we do is a potential rainbow, so make each choice rainbow worthy.