When I was a new yoga teacher, one of the biggest challenges was finding time to spend with my fellow teachers. We were all busy with teaching and when we weren’t teaching, we were trying to schedule a class to take as a student, or we were running errands or trying to catch up on our sleep. There wasn’t a lot of time to hang out, catch up or find out how things were going with each other’s teaching career. 

I try more these days to spend time with fellow teachers. Having a network of teachers is important for any teacher and now with Facebook and Twitter, there are lots of ways to stay in touch. But nothing beats sitting down and having a face-to-face talk with a colleague.  
Teaching yoga can feel isolating at times, as we all have different schedules and teach in a myriad of places. I find that occasionally, in my local coffee shop, I run into fellow teachers and there’s time to chat.  Also, in the crossover between classes, we run into each other but there’s never enough substantial time to really find out how they’re doing.  Finding time to build connections can help your network grow, can help you learn what others are doing, can identify challenges that you may not yet have faced (but will) and can give you a chance to share ideas around practical issues as well as business needs.  

In any meeting with a colleague, here are some things I would ask: 

1. Where are you teaching these days? You never know what new gig your friend just picked up. Maybe they just started teaching at the cool new studio in town and you’ve been interested in making a connection there. Finding out each other’s schedule helps each one of you identify new contacts and opportunities. There’s also always the chance to make a connection with a new studio to cover classes when needed. Maybe you can help each other make the necessary connections to have that conversation with the right studio contacts.