5 Tips for Yoga Sequencing

When I was a new yoga teacher, I had a lot on my mind: alignment, instruction, room temperature, offering modifications, building connection with my students, to name a few. In addition, I had the sequence to consider. From class to class, should I vary the sequence? Would my students be bored if I did the same thing every time they came to class? Would more advanced students stop coming if I stuck to the same general sequence? How would my students grow without my introduction of more challenging poses?

These were all the things (and more) I considered as I began teaching. In my training as a Baptiste Certified Teacher, I was always encouraged to stick to the same sequence. I’ll admit; as a new teacher, there were more times than not that I strayed. I’d go to a class and be inspired by someone else’s variation or I loved working on hips and the idea of inserting a hip sequence was attractive to me.

This is one of the challenges of teaching yoga. We get pulled into some of the same mind games that our students do. In order to keep it interesting, we sometimes think we need to switch things up. But to help our students grow, build muscle memory, get stronger and connect to the more meditative aspect of yoga, it’s helpful to stick to a similar sequence from class to class.

Here are some related thoughts on the topic:

1. A similar sequence from class to class gives you one less thing to worry about: As a new teacher, there’s a lot to consider plus, there are all the things you’ve not thought of that will come up. For instance, there’s the student who asks a question mid-class or the student who’s injured and needs lot of help. These “unknowns” become so much easier to manage when you don’t have to also think about what pose you’ll present next.