3 Ways to Get the Body (and Mind) You Want

As a fitness instructor I am always looking for ways to teach people about health and how to honor their bodies as the vessel that allows them to have this physical experience in this life. For me, fitness has always been about reconnecting the mind, body and spirit -- a notion that mainstream American culture and society has somehow seemingly and sadly forgot in the last decade.

It seems we all have a definition about what healthy is for each of us. I see people who struggle with their workouts -- lack of motivation, knowledge or overexertion to the point of exhaustion. With New Year’s Resolutions in effect, it’s more important than ever to pay attention to our bodies and how we treat ourselves. Remember that wonderful Law of Attraction? It becomes very real, even in our physical fitness routines. Our minds are always aware -- we hear every thought on a cellular level. And because we are so in tune with our thoughts, our bodies recognize and listen to those thoughts. If you are looking in the mirror and telling yourself you hate your thighs and that they are disgusting, your body hears that. It’s no wonder why we have a difficult time losing weight. Why? Because we are focusing on the body we don’t want, not the one we do.

In the past few years I’ve spent most of my time asking the question, “What is it that people truly desire?” To be fit? To be “skinny” to “look good” or “feel good”-- the answer always comes right back to happiness and feeling a sense of purpose. You can go to the gym and workout vigorously, eat healthy and have the best job with the highest paying salary, but at the end of the day -- are you happy? Are you living your sense of purpose in the world and treating your body like a temple?

So just how do you get to having the body you want?

1. Choose a workout regimen you’ll stick to.