5 Personal Experiences to Use for Teaching Yoga

When I was a new teacher, I went through a romantic break-up. It unfortunately, coincided with the opening day of a new studio location. There was no way I could avoid teaching but I could barely stop crying. I don’t have any recollection of what I said while teaching but I do recall a few tears streaming down my face as the students were in Child’s Pose.

When “life” happens, it can sometimes get in the way of your teaching but it can also give you the inspiration to introduce a particular theme, without making it about your personal story. At times, you may want to share something personal with your class and it can be a great way to show yourself to your students. But at times you may not be comfortable and it may not be meaningful to your students to hear the specifics of your break-up/injury/death in the family/challenge at work.

So what general themes can be drawn from some of what we all experience in life? Here are some ideas:

1. You injured yourself, on or off the mat, and need to modify your yoga practice:

This is such a great theme to bring into class because everyone will experience injuries at some point. Working on the mat within our capabilities on that particular day is part of a healthy yoga practice. You could use your personal experience with injury to suggest more modifications to your students, to bring in the idea of the first yama, ahimsa, which speaks to non-harming behaviors or to suggest using props. You could also speak to pushing yourself or losing the integrity of the postures because of an ideal you’re holding out there around how the poses “should” look rather than how they can be expressed in your body. You could also bring into class the idea of practicing with compassion; not as “way out” but more as a way to respect your body.

2. You recently ended a romantic relationship: