5 Ways To Use Yoga To Make Your Skin Glow

5 Ways To Use Yoga To Make Your Skin Glow Hero Image
Photo: Christine Hewitt / Stocksy

As a yoga teacher, I live my life in sweaty rooms with a messy ponytail. I couldn't rely on fancy hair and makeup as my recipe for radiance even if I tried.

Lately, students have been asking me for my secrets for glowing skin and peace within. If you practice yoga regularly, you're probably aware of how much clearer and brighter you're skin looks when you're hitting the yoga studio more often than not. Want to take that glow to the next level? Here are my top five "glow to's":

1. Inhale and exhale.

Take a 10-minute walk around the block. Take the stairs instead of the escalator, or simply dance to your favorite playlist for 10 minutes. Having your heart beating faster transports oxygen-rich blood to your muscles and improves cellular respiration. It's super simple and straightforward, but it works like a charm. In just 10 minutes, you've refreshed your body and mind.

2. Connect to the earth.

Take off your shoes and stand in the grass, sand, or ocean for five minutes. Earthing, or as some call it, "grounding," is the theory that our bodies are meant to come into contact with the earth on a regular basis. And there's biophysics and science to back this theory too. Positive electrons in the form of free radicals are associated with chronic inflammation.

Our lives have taken us away from direct contact with the earth—rubber-soled shoes, cement floors, and electromagnetic waves from our cellphones and Wi-Fi. And as a result, positive electrons build up in our bodies. When we're grounded, there's a transfer of negatively charged free electrons from the earth into our bodies, and these free electrons are some of the most potent antioxidants around.

Photo credit: Stocksy

3. Turn it upside down.