5 Intuitive Art Exercises For Radical Transformation

Photo: Danielle Cohen

Have you ever muttered the words "I'm not an artist" while simultaneously feeling the undeniable urge to make something—anything—with your hands? If so, you're not alone.

I believe human aliveness and creative capacity go hand in hand, and I also know deep down in my bones that creativity is a crucial part of holistic well-being. Just like moving your body and eating well, fortifying your creative muscles is a powerful way to cultivate happiness, healthiness, and confidence—not to mention spontaneity, innovation, and play!

My soul's been craving a more integrated kind of creativity—the kind that easily weaves itself into all aspects of my life.

But so many of our days are full, and getting creative is the last thing most of us want to do when things get hectic. Even I, an artist at heart, know that to be true.

After painting large-scale, acrylic pieces for a couple of decades, the inspiration, time, and effort required to show up to this particular flavor of creative expression has felt increasingly harder to access lately. And while I'll always love painting huge, messy paintings on canvas, my soul's been craving a more integrated kind of creativity—the kind that easily weaves itself into all aspects of my life.

My quest has led me to an abundance of accessible, creativity-fueled moments. And the good news is, they don't require fancy art supplies, a special studio, technical skills, or a lot of time. In fact, some of these practices have nothing to do with making actual artwork at all. Instead, they're about living a more curious, intuitive, and tuned-in life by fueling the fires that support creative well-being. Here are a few you can try out in your own routine:

1. Draw musical lines.

Photo: Zippy Lomax