5 Life-Changing Epiphanies I Had While Meditating In South Korea

5 Life-Changing Epiphanies I Had While Meditating In South Korea Hero Image
Photo: Stocksy

The first time I meditated was eight years ago. I lit a candle, sat crossed cross-legged on my living room floor, and I lasted about 15 seconds. I fell over in frustration, trying to figure out what this Zen thing was all about. At the time, I was seeking solace wherever I could, desperate for some escape from the madness of my life. My doctor had just diagnosed me with depression, and I was suffocating in a career I no longer felt connected to. I knew I needed to commit to something to pull me out of my darkness. So I turned to yoga and meditation.

At first, I was a lot like a child learning to walk. The thought of meditating and finding peace within the chaos was exciting, but once I started practicing, it quickly turned frustrating, embarrassing, and even painful.

Even though I returned to meditation often, I never really felt connected to it. I was just going through the motions, because it was supposed to be a "feel-good" activity, but it was hard for me to take it seriously—until I reframed my definition of meditation.

Meditation is the practice of turning your attention to a single point of reference. For some, it could be zoning out on a pillow, but I found more peace in running, writing, and painting. Being in the moment and channeling my creative energy was the best form of meditation. So when I had the chance to do a meditation retreat in South Korea, I jumped. It wasn't until I did a traditional temple stay that I recognized the true life-changing benefits of meditation.

Here are the powerful truths I learned at my meditation retreat:.

ADVERTISEMENT

1. Not everything in front of you deserves your energy.