7 Signs Your Relationship Won't Last Through The Holidays (And What You Can Do To Fix It)

7 Signs Your Relationship Won't Last Through The Holidays (And What You Can Do To Fix It) Hero Image

Holidays are supposed to be about celebrating with the people you love, but for many of us, it inevitably puts romantic relationships under a microscope.

Will it last? Am I with the right person? Should they be meeting my family?

As a psychologist, I often work with patients to evaluate the strength and potential longevity of a relationship. I'd like to offer you a unique way to look at what might not be working and what you can do about it.

If you truly love your partner and want to isolate what's not working in the relationship, you can bring these insights to your significant other and try to improve the relationship together.

Essentially, once you identify the problem and have the motivation to discuss it with your honey, you've created an opportunity to promote longevity in your relationship.

ADVERTISEMENT

Here are a few signs I've seen in my practice that your relationship is in trouble and what you can do to change that:

1. "Quality time" always involves a screen and rarely involves face-to-face sharing.

It's wonderful to watch your favorite show or movie together, but those passive activities have to be balanced by true bonding. Quality time is the glue that keeps partners bonded together. Without it, your relationship loses its luster, and you and your partner will grow apart.

The Fix:

Discuss what quality time means to each of you. Guard it like your life depends on it. Make a mutual commitment to do more together than just sit on the couch and watch TV.

2. When you or your significant other share words from the heart, one of you doesn't put the phone down.