5 Items An ER Doctor Would Never Keep In Her Home

Photo: Stocksy

While I was scrolling through my Facebook "Mommy exchange" the other night, something stuck out to me. I saw two separate products — a baby sleeper seat and a bath seat — for sale that the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) and American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) have advised banning. I'm always astounded by how many unsafe products are marketed to the most well-intentioned parents every day — regardless of how harmful they can be.

Of course, as an ER physician, I'm extra attuned to dangers. But for most parents, it's hard to stay up-to-date, and the advice of doctors and safety advocacy groups can be drowned out by all the baby marketing blitzes.

While some of these make great shortcuts, the bottom line is that each of these can be deadly to a toddler or infant. So, from one parent to another, if you have a young child at home, I recommend tossing these dangerous items, or at least storing them until your child is a little older:

1. Laundry or dish detergent pods

To a child under 6, these colorful detergent pods look like candy! Which is why every year, thousands of children are taken to the ER for biting or swallowing them. Almost 5 percent of those kids are hospitalized, with 7 percent experiencing serious medical consequences, including airway or esophageal injury and even death.

Why the problem? Not only are the bright and colorful pods tempting to little kids, but they're also in a highly concentrated form, meaning children get more poison with a single swallow than they would get with typical detergent. While the CPSC and AAP have lobbied to change the manufacturing of these products, they're still widely available.