5 Tips I Use To Balance Wellness As A Working Mom

Photo: Stocksy

I'm pretty new to this working mom thing. I met my husband at age 38, married him at 39, and accidentally got pregnant at 40.

On my 41st birthday, I was holding a newborn in my arms. Talk about a life transformation!

On top of that, I have a hugely demanding job as co-founder of Health Coach Institute, where we train health coaches around the world in the Transformational Coaching Methodology. Before my now 8-month-old daughter, Evie, was born, my work was a full-time job. Now I have two full-time jobs.

Before giving birth to Evie, I could focus almost all of my undivided attention on my business … or anything I wanted! Looking back, that feels utterly luxurious because the single most shocking change for me as a new working mom is undoubtedly the disappearance of 98 percent of my time.

Truth be told, there is no way I could be a mom and the co-founder and primary teacher of a health coaching school without a ton of help from my community and the following tips:

Tip 1: Outsource some "mom" roles so you can reserve your own resources.

I outsource a lot. Our angel of a nanny arrives at 8:30 a.m. to care for Evie (so I can start my workday) along with our housekeeper.

My incredible husband gets on baby duty when he comes home from work at 5:30 p.m.

I also pre-order organic meals from an organic food preparation and delivery service daily so I don't have to prepare meals.

Motherhood is an ongoing exercise in radical self-acceptance.

I outsource a lot because what feels most valuable to me is being present and available for my daughter and my husband when we're together. I want them to get the best version of me when I'm with them, not the burnt-out, exhausted, miserable version of me.