Everyone, at one time or another, has been given less-than-great advice for their health. Fitness and weight loss, due to their touchy and unique nature, have been particularly clouded with mountains of bad advice over the years. And if you are like everyone else, sifting through it can be hard, and tedious. As a personal trainer, I see my clients believing in some of the same big myths, over and over again. Here's some of the loudest, and most erroneous, advice that could be slowing down your fitness gains, and what you should do instead.

1. If I take a workout supplement, I don't have to work as hard.

This fitness myth is mostly perpetuated by the radical claims that supplements, both natural and unnatural, make. Countless supplements claim they can “speed up your metabolism” or “burn fat for you” or even “put muscle on you.” This is just not true. Working out will help you speed up your fat burning, not a supplement. And eating right, and eating enough, will help you put on muscle. Besides, even if a supplement could help, there could be a trade-off. In the end, the chemicals that fill those bottles could do more harm than good to your fitness gains by damaging your glands and leading to poor health.

2. I have to go to the gym because I need weight machines to get fit.

So many people think that they need to go to the gym so that they can use all of the special machinery that is available. But lifting free weights is just as effective as, if not better than, using weight-lifting machinery. Machines do not mimic the body’s natural movement, but rather, can restrict your movement and even be harmful if they are used incorrectly.

One of the biggest advantages of using free weights in place of heavy machinery is that you have the freedom to work out from your own home. Investing in your own set of weights at home can eliminate the need for expensive gym memberships. This gives you the luxury of working out on your own time, in your own home.