3 Ayurvedic Secrets For Better Sleep + Healthier Digestion

3 Ayurvedic Secrets For Better Sleep + Healthier Digestion Hero Image
Photo: Stocksy

Like most people, I'm always seeking new ways to live a happier, healthier life. A little over four years ago, I discovered Ayurveda, which opened my eyes to simple, effective techniques that finally helped me find balance. I have been an avid student and practitioner ever since.

Ayurveda, a Sanskrit word that translates to “the science of life,” originated in India more than 5,000 years ago. It's a practice that believes everything in the universe is connected and that health is achieved by staying in alignment with the rhythm of the world that surrounds us.

Whenever people ask me how to start incorporating Ayurveda into their lives, my answer is to keep it simple. The beauty of Ayurveda is that small tweaks can make a big difference. You don’t have to do everything at once—just start by doing something.

Here are three simple ways you can incorporate Ayurveda into your life today:

1. Eat warm, cooked food.

In Ayurveda, digestion is the key to good health, and cooking food makes it easier to digest. The logic behind this is that our bodies and digestive systems are hot, so our food should be too. Ayurveda looks at our agni, or "digestive fire," as a sign of our overall well-being. Eating warm, cooked food fuels our agni instead of cooling it down.

ADVERTISEMENT

Once you start thinking about your diet, you'll probably realize that a decent amount of the food you eat isn’t warm or cooked. (Think: juices, salads, salad bars, breakfast bowls, and sandwiches.) Start becoming more aware of the cold food you're taking in, and see where you can swap out a cold juice for a soup or cold salad for sautéed veggies. A great way to get started is by cooking more warming recipes at home.

2. Oil up.