7 Ways To Raise Caring Kids In An All-About-Me Culture

7 Ways To Raise Caring Kids In An All-About-Me Culture Hero Image
Photo: Stocksy

If you asked me to name the #1 most important trait our kids need to thrive in today’s world, I’d answer “empathy," or the ability feel for another.

Why? As an educational psychologist, I know that the ability to empathize affects our kids’ future health, wealth, and happiness. And as a mom, I’ve learned that it helps my sons build healthier relationships, strong character, and learn how to bounce back. But empathy is also what motivates our children to care. Though children are born with this miraculous capacity, it must be nurtured.

Here are seven simple strategies from my new book, UnSelfie: Why Empathetic Kids Succeed in Our All-About-Me World, that will help us raise caring kids in today’s world:

1. Talk about emotions.

Without the ability to identify emotions, kids are at a huge disadvantage. After all, how can they empathize if they can’t “read” how another person feels? Today’s kids would rather text than talk and are plugged into digital devices throughout the day.

So, weave feeling words into your conversations to teach emotional literacy. First, label the emotion you think your child feels: “You seem nervous." Or, “Do you feel irritated?” Next, help read others’ emotions: “How do you think Sally feels?” Finally, activate her empathy to care: “If you think Sally is sad, what can you do to help?”

ADVERTISEMENT

2. Make kindness a routine.

Kids don’t become kind on their own—they need regular practice opportunities. Try my girlfriend’s "Two Kindness Rule." “I expect you to say or do at least two kind things every day,” she’d tell her daughters. The girls then reported their kind deeds later that night at dinner. And all that practice paid off: Her daughters are now kind-hearted adults.

3. Encourage them to imagine others' feelings.