8 Ways Quitting "Fast Fashion" Can Lead To A More Mindful Life

Photo: Stocksy

A few years ago, I worked in the nonprofit sector and was passionate about being a “do-gooder.” But my social consciousness didn’t yet extend to my clothes.

After reading posts from a friend who was starting an ethical fashion company, I was inspired to take a hard look at why I was not more mindful of my clothing consumption. I figured it was largely due to the fact that I knew so little about the industry. Once I started learning, I knew it was time for a change.

Snippets of my ethical wardrobe Photo: Sara Weinreb

On my 26th birthday, I made a vow to buy only one item of clothing per month. I knew I had too many clothes—I used to pride myself in college on owning 22 pairs of jeans—and they had a way of slowing me down. After virtually meeting Kestrel Jenkins of Awear, who was building a community of people who were dedicated to shopping responsibly, I took the challenge one step further.

Since that day in February 2014, I haven’t bought anything that's not from a thrift store, created in the United States, or made responsibly elsewhere (sourced from reliable blogs, from brands whose founder I know, or endorsed by ethical fashion websites).

I, a shopaholic, quit fast fashion cold turkey.

Turns out, the effects of this ban extended far beyond my closet. They seeped into nearly every aspect of my life—here's how:

Snippets of my ethical wardrobe Photo: Sara Weinreb

Arrow Created with Sketch. Article continues below

1. I stopped caring about buying fast fashion.

I couldn’t believe how quickly the mindset shift occurred, but as soon as I vowed to stop shopping from “unethical” sources, I no longer felt the urge to do so. I had strong reasons for sticking to my pledge, and the appeal of mass consumerism, of buying tons of new items for cheap that I'd never even end up wearing, lost its appeal altogether.

2. I started spending more money per item and buying fewer items.