As a private chef, my absolute favorite thing about cooking is that there are no rules. Okay, yes, if you're baking, you need to be jam-on precise, but in your day-to-day, it’s simply a matter of getting the good stuff in.

In addition to being a private chef, I’m also a personal trainer, so when I say good, I mean delicious AND healthy. Yes, it’s possible, and it’s all about good ingredients.

By beginning with clean, organic foods, we find more flavor. When we stop counting calories and begin counting chemicals, we find that the simplest of ingredients can come together to create something amazing.

By putting good stuff in the pantry, freezer, and fridge you're more likely to eat it. By just keeping a few staples on hand, you'll always be able to throw together a little something.

Here are some things you’ll always find in my kitchen that help me create reliably delicious and healthy meals easily.

ADVERTISEMENT

1. Eggs

A good item to purchase at your local farmers market. The only way to get fresher eggs is to build your own coop.

2. Real butter

Because I trust cows more than chemists.

This is also a good item to buy at your local farmers market. You may find yourself paying just a little more, but I guarantee you it’s worth it. Remember, real food is better for you over a chemical-rich product, even if it's butter.

3. Peach jam

I love this on toast and it’s delightful when added to a vinaigrette.

4. Hibiscus tea

A delicious tool for keeping my blood pressure and immune system in check. During the summer I’ll make huge batches and freeze some into ice pops.

5. Organic deli-sliced peppered turkey

I use it to make a simple sandwich or something more elaborate with sautéed onions, mushrooms, and spinach on toasted and buttered cranberry walnut bread.

6. Turkey bacon

Because bacon makes everything better. (I love Applegate.)