9 Seemingly Harmless Things My Clients Do That Derail Their Weight Loss

I'm a personal trainer, and most of the habits below are ones I hear about straight from my clients' mouths. Most of them are "mom traps" that are easy to fall into. I understand the pressure to get everything organized, fixed, and completed for everyone else, but this should not be an excuse to ignore your own health.

If you find yourself connecting strongly with these nine "mom traps," you need to turn things around. Be on the lookout and you’ll find that you can stay healthier and make serious progress toward your goals if you stop yourself from doing any of these:

1. Indulging in the daily 8 p.m. glass of wine.

The kids are finally asleep so you cuddle up with a glass of wine (or two) to unwind. Watch out! Those innocent, mood-mellowing glasses ruin all of your hard work. Not to mention that they will likely lead to snacking as well. Cutting out the nightly alcohol will help you sleep better and will also keep those calories from depositing themselves onto your body!

2. Not taking steps to manage stress in a healthy way.

Maintaining a busy family causes some serious stress, and stress is not your healthy friend. Realize what type of stress triggers you to dive into the ice cream (or whatever your go-to feel-good snack is). Mindless eating because the world seems heavy only leads to frustration!

Arrow Created with Sketch. Article continues below

3. Hanging out in the kitchen.

Mindless snacking is at its worst when you are home during the day and the kitchen is just too easily accessed. Don’t make it so easy to access food and you'll find that your cravings decrease. Do as much as you can outside of the house. When you are home, stay busy, chew gum, or go brush your teeth!

4. Not making the time to sit down and eat.