5 Amazing Things About Pregnancy That You Don't Appreciate Until You Go Through It

5 Amazing Things About Pregnancy That You Don't Appreciate Until You Go Through It Hero Image

I’m a medical doctor, but I’m also an anatomist, with a long-standing interest in embryology, or the study of how embryos develop. It’s a fascinating area to research, and I love teaching about it as well.

But it wasn't until the birth of my first baby, in 2010, that the subject suddenly came alive for me — in a very real way.

Becoming a mother transformed the way I look at the world. I had an incredible, almost mystical, feeling of being connected — connected with my own ancestors, and connected with my descendants. I felt like more than an individual: I was a link in the chain of life. I was giving birth to a daughter, just as I had come from my mother, and she from her mother, and back and back in time.

There’s so much about childbirth that really is momentous. You are deeply, intimately involved with what can only be described as a biological miracle: You have made a baby!

"Despite how much I knew about embryonic development, I still felt that what was happening inside me was utterly miraculous."

ADVERTISEMENT

In our 21st-century world we have many ways of understanding what’s going on during pregnancy, beyond our own senses and intuition. We have much more information available to us than our parents and grandparents had.

For example, at around 12 weeks after conception, an ultrasound scan reveals the fetus. So much has already been formed by this time: The tiny fetus already has arms and legs, fingers and toes, guts and a beating heart. It already looks like a miniature baby.

That ultrasound image can be reassuring, and I felt soaring joy when I saw my baby for the first time on the screen.