Facebook Just Made It A Whole Lot Easier To Forget Your Ex

We've all been there. Scrolling innocently through our Facebook news feed, and then BAM — out pops a picture of our ex. Our stomach plummets. We were having one day and all of a sudden we're having another.

He's smiling! Why is he smiling? Who's that girl?!

It's as if Facebook is deliberately trying to torture us.

Well, now they've finally decided to do something about it. In a blog post, the site announced that it is beta-testing tools to “help people manage how they interact with their former partners on Facebook after a relationship has ended."

So, starting today, Facebook is introducing features that allow users to purge their news feed of any possible sign he or she is alive: status updates, pictures, or videos. It will also give you the option to automatically untag yourself from all photos with your ex in one quick rip of the Band-Aid. And if you're feeling empathetic, you can also hide your updates and photos from said ex.

Facebook will prompt users to do this as soon as their status changes from "In A Relationship" to "Single." (But does anyone actually use the relationship status thing anymore?)

Gone are the days of unfriending the ex (that is, unless you can't help yourself from constantly checking in on his or her profile). You're above that now. You're an adult.

Related Posts

Your article and new folder have been saved!