7 Lies We All Tell Ourselves About Food

7 Lies We All Tell Ourselves About Food Hero Image

People tend to assume that because I am a food psychologist that I must be naturally disciplined and virtuous when it comes to my own eating.

Nothing could be further from the truth. Just like everyone else, I engage in elaborate self-deceptions to try to get to the foods I'm really craving and ignore everything I know about nutrition.

So in order to help us all recognize the excuses we tell ourselves, I'm sharing the top seven lies I catch myself in when it comes to eating — and how we can all readjust our thinking.

Lie #1: If I’m craving something sweet that means my body needs sugar.

The truth: Cravings can be powerful, and it’s easy to feel as though we're powerless against them. But just because you’re craving something sweet doesn’t mean that a sugary treat is the only thing that will satisfy it.

Your body can convert anything into glucose — so just eat some cashews already! You might be surprised to find that low-glycemic snacks like nuts, cheese, or hummus will curb the cravings and keep you fuller longer.

ADVERTISEMENT

On the other hand, when we turn to high-glycemic foods such as bagels, chips, pretzels, and sweets, we keep the craving cycle going.

Lie #2: It’s a smoothie, so it’s healthy.

The truth: It’s seems logical to think of smoothies and juice as healthy, especially when they’re green in color. They have what researchers call a “health halo,” which tricks us into thinking they are healthy because they're made from fruit.

But most of the time they also have lots of sugar in them (even when they’re green). Many other fruit-based products have similar health halos, including dried cranberries, banana chips, fruit leather, and trail mix. Take a look at the nutrition labels and you might be surprised.