10 Reasons Everyone Should Lift Weights

I'm a personal trainer, and when I begin with new female clients, I always start them on a weight-lifting routine. Yet I always hear the same complaints: "Only men should weight-lift!" or "I don't want to get big!"

I squash these myths as soon as I hear them. There are countless benefits to a weight-lifting regimen, and it's something men and women should work into their training schedule. Here are 10 reasons why I think everyone should pick up some weights:

1. Muscle takes up less space in your body than fat.

Because muscle is denser than fat, it takes up less space in your body than fat does. Lifting weights will help you turn the fat in your body into muscle and thus help you lose inches.

2. You don't need a gym to lift weights.

You also don't need a treadmill, park, or trail either. If you don't have dumbbells, you can use body-weight exercises that require no equipment and work just as well at toning your body.

3. Strength builds balance.

Practicing some form of strength training will improve your balance.

4. Muscle strength allows you to do more.

Whether you want to simply be able to rearrange your house or roughhouse with your toddler, strength training will allow you to have fun and stay active without having to call someone to help you.

5. Muscle uses more energy than fat.

The best way to explain this is also the simplest: You can use muscle as you move; you cannot “use” fat. When you walk or talk or lift, you engage your muscles, and in doing so, expend energy. Even when doing nothing at all, muscle is burning more calories than fat is. Granted, it’s a small amount, but it still counts.

6. Lifting weights lowers your stress levels.