10 Surprisingly Easy Ways To Find Your Wellness Tribe

I love yoga. I’ve been practicing since 1996 and teaching since 2001. Over this time, I’ve come across every type of yogi. Every time I meet someone new, we seem to ask each other: What type of yoga do you do? Where do you do it? Where were you trained? With whom? Funny, since yoga is a tradition that constantly speaks to us about inclusion.

Finding a yoga sangha — or tribe, or kula, or community, whichever word you prefer — can help to combat the exclusive vibe some yogis can emit. Our sangha can support our practice, hold us accountable, and create a space for shared dedication on the mat and beyond. It can be the mirror that helps us see when we stray from our intention. The sangha helps us stay on the path, find the center of it, and find our way back when we drift off course.

Though the individuals within a sangha may come from very different life experiences, coming together despite those difference helps break down the divisions that separate us. Finding such a crew isn’t always easy. But if we show up, let down the boundaries that hold us apart, and go beyond our tendency to classify and divide one another, we might find our crew was there all along.

So, how do you find your tribe? Here are a few things you can try.

1. Talk to people.

From early on, our culture teaches us to make quick judgments about who someone is, based on how they look. We automatically categorize people into “like me” or “not like me” based on appearance. But when we start talking to people who are “not like me,” we often find out that we share hopes and fears with them, or that for each of us, an intense life event was the catalyst for stepping into yoga. These deeper similarities aren’t visible on the outside, but they indicate a kindred spirit.

2. Connect with your classmates on a deeper level.