Back to school: That exciting period of freshly sharpened pencils, brand-new pairs of shoes, and the chance to meet new teachers and friends.

But while this season can be a thrilling time for kids, most also start to experience increased stress, worries and uncertainty. Not only are they unsure what a new school year will mean for them, but they're also going from several months of freedom and relaxation back into the routine and busyness of school.

Some children will verbalize their worries to you — but others will express them in the form of physical complaints, changes in mood, sleep and appetite, or increased tantrums and irritability.

As a clinical child psychologist, I often hear parents ask how to make this transition go as smoothly as possible. Here's what I tell them:

1. Make shopping for school supplies a fun adventure.

ADVERTISEMENT

In the weeks before school, make plans with your children for the annual pilgrimage to procure new school supplies and clothes.

Many parents tell me that they find the process of getting school supplies to be stressful, with crowded stores and that must-needed item nowhere to be found. To help, I recommend re-conceptualizing the experience as an adventure, or an opportunity to have a nice day together before school starts again. If you and your child don't find shopping to be a pleasant experience, pair it with a fun activity that you can enjoy together afterwards.

2. Encourage kids to open up about back to school blues.

As the start of school approaches, let your children talk honestly about their feelings for the upcoming year. Note any anxious thoughts that arise, especially ones that begin with “What if?” When parents hear these kinds of thoughts, the natural inclination is to reassure their kids with clichés like, “Don’t worry” or “You’ll be okay."