Some "Gluten-Free" Probiotics Are Not Actually Gluten-Free
Those who have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity may want to pay attention to a new study.
According to researchers at the Celiac Disease Center at Columbia University Medical Center, more than half of the most popular probiotics labeled "gluten-free" actually contain traces of gluten.
"Many patients with celiac disease take dietary supplements, and probiotics are particularly popular," study co-author Dr. Samantha Nazareth said in a press release. "We have previously reported that celiac patients who use dietary supplements have more symptoms than non-users, so we decided to test the probiotics for gluten contamination."
Since the probiotics (supposedly) contain less than 20 parts per million of the protein, they're considered gluten-free by the FDA. But the researchers found that 18% of the brands actually contained more than that amount.
The results suggest that probiotics with labels claiming they're gluten-free can't be trusted. But does a little bit of gluten made that big a difference?
The researchers are still unsure if the traces of gluten they detected could pose a risk to the health of people with celiac disease.
Still, it’s troubling that these products are being labeled misleadingly. Gluten-sensitive people seeking digestive help: Proceed with caution.
Ready to learn more about how to unlock the power of food to heal your body, prevent disease & achieve optimal health? Register now for our FREE Functional Nutrition Webinar with Kelly LeVeque.