About 12 years ago, back when you had to wait to develop film before you see your pictures, I was anxiously awaiting some photos of a girls' weekend with some great friends. I couldn't wait to get the prints back, visions of an evening spent scrapbooking dancing in my head. But when I finally got the pictures back, I threw them away. All of them.

Why? I was really uncomfortable with the way I looked. I couldn’t put my finger on it at the time, but something felt off. Looking back, I know what it was: I chronically held myself in really awful, unattractive posture. I certainly didn’t do it intentionally, I just didn’t know any better. My poor posture wasn't only unattractive, it also wreaked havoc on my body also wreaked havoc on my body. I had chronic joint and muscle pain, jaw issues, headaches ... you name it, I had it.

So what changed? I started practicing and teaching yoga and Pilates. As a result, my body, body awareness, and posture totally transformed. Throughout my 10-plus years of teaching, I’ve found these five tips to work wonders with helping people train their bodies toward more functional, attractive posture.

1. Adjust your rearview mirror.

The next time you hop into the driver’s seat of your car, take a moment to sit up as tall as you can. Activate your abdominal muscles to support you by pretending like you’re zipping up a tight pair of jeans. Then, think of your head as a clock with the very top being 12 o’clock, your nose being 3 o’clock and your neck being 6 o’clock. Envision a string at 11 o’clock and pull that imaginary string straight up, toward the sky, to help you lengthen your spine.

ADVERTISEMENT

Once this strong posture is intact, adjust your rearview mirror. Then, don’t let yourself readjust it. When you notice you can’t see out of it, readjust your posture instead of the mirror.

2. Put a yoga block between your thighs.