I’m a writer in New York City, which means I'm also an anxious workaholic, overly-engaged, exhausted and constantly spinning.

I wouldn't exactly win a prize for taking care of my body either, often choosing my craft over a trip to the gym. So when I decided to help lead a yoga and creative writing retreat last summer, I was unsure how I felt. Who was I to feel expansive, beautiful and holy? Who was I to stop working and do this "yoga thing?"

I was conflicted by a fear of my own body and a looming sense of guilt. Was "self-care" really for me? Despite, I entrusted faith in my fellow co-leader, Maiga, the yogi of our duo, and opened myself up to what yoga could offer.

Despite sore muscles, I huffed my way through poses and occasionally broke out into wild laughter. What bliss and relief! With each postural adjustment, I was reminded to lose my words and identity. During meditation, something unhooked, loosened and shook free.

Finding balance between mind and body was an astounding revelation. Until then, I had clung to my identity as a method of staying alive. I learned to set down, if only for a moment, any preconceived notions I had about myself in favor of a divine interconnectedness with all of life.

ADVERTISEMENT

In a world where we cannot escape our skin, we are still free to fly wherever we choose... right inside our minds. And how crucial this was for a writer to experience — this freedom and expansiveness — buried deep underneath all the layers of work.

Here are five ways yoga can infuse your writing practice with new life, making you a better writer:

1. You will notice a deeper connection to your senses.

Many of us are dependent on our cellphones, filtering the world through a screen, instead of observing what is actually happening right in front of us. How are we as writers supposed to create vibrant work without truly experiencing the world around us?