Some people call me a counselor, others a therapist, still others a shrink. Technically, I am a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. But regardless of what people call me, they usually get around to asking me how it is that I am able to do what I do — to be the witness to so many people's suffering, and extend my efforts to help them heal, day in and day out.

I certainly understand why it may be baffling to some why I, or anyone, chooses to become a therapist. Almost everyday, I am the last ditch effort to save a marriage, and my office is the place for many to share their most horrific experiences. I bear witness to intense pain and shame, and hold it all in a soft space. It sounds exhausting — and I get that.

But I have been consistently energized by my work, and have learned so much more about healing than about pain. Here are five of the top lessons I've learned sitting in the chair each day.

1. We can all heal.

When we experience pain, we may not always heal into the feeling or situation that we felt “before." Often, the pain we feel during the process of healing can emerge from the expectation that we can "fix" ourselves. The truth is that we can heal and develop a beautiful life around a "new normal." Letting go of what we think life has to look like in order to be OK is the hard part. But when we can do that, and get out of our own way, something new and beautiful has room to emerge and grow.

ADVERTISEMENT

2. The human spirit’s capacity to overcome, survive and thrive is astounding.

There are moments when I listen to stories of the abuse someone has endured, and I am shocked by their resilience. For instance, I worked with a patient whose abuse made him stronger, rather than bitter. When someone shares ways they have used their pain to help others, I am so honored to be a part of their journey.