10 Ingredients You Need To Eliminate From Your Beauty Routine ASAP

10 Ingredients You Need To Eliminate From Your Beauty Routine ASAP Hero Image

Why do we know so little about the ingredients we put on our skin every single day? That's the question I've been asking myself for the last ten years, ever since I was 15 and discovered my favorite mascara contained an ingredient (propylene glycol) that was also used to wax airplane wheels. Gross, right?

Today, I'm still shocked to realize that hardly anyone really thinks about the ingredients in their beauty products. Sure, researching every little thing on your shampoo's ingredient list might not sound like your idea of a good time, but did you know that only 11% of the 10,500 ingredients used in common beauty products have actually been tested for safety?

Don't get me wrong, I love wearing makeup and discovering new brands, but I never want to expose myself to unnecessary fillers and harsh preservatives. I want beauty and health, which is why I co-founded Beauty Lies Truth: to discover and share the truth about the beauty industry.

There's a lot we don't know, but the least we can do is eliminate the chemicals we know are harmful. Here are a list of the top 10 ingredients you should eliminate from your beauty routine ASAP. Need more proof that these are harmful? All 10 have been banned or restricted by the European Union ...

1. Parabens

ADVERTISEMENT

What to look for: anything that ends with “paraben” like butylparaben, ethylparaben, methylparaben, propylparaben, etc.

Where they're found: Found in shampoos and other bath products, lotions and makeup

Why you should care: These popular preservatives mimic the hormone estrogen and are linked to cancer, reproductive toxicity, immunotoxicity, neurotoxicity and skin irritation. They may also increase the risk of breast cancer.

2. Formaldehyde