After 20 years of teaching yoga, I know that there are certain challenges that any new yoga teacher will face. I only wish I'd known this when I started teaching! I might have worried a little less and enjoyed the process a little more. Here are 10 things I wish I'd known when I was a newbie.

1. There will come a day when you'll start class and forget everything but your own name.

It's OK! You're human. When you feel stuck in front of your class, just breathe. Remember: fear is just excitement without the breath.

2. You will inevitably get into an argument with someone you care about right before class.

When that happens, give yourself a moment (in your car, in the bathroom, wherever) and let out an OM. Clear your energy, send love to the one you're struggling with, and leave it outside.

ADVERTISEMENT

3. You'll teach the best class of your life and only two students will show up that day. (Or maybe none at all.)

Look at it this way: How lucky you are to have taught your best class ever to two people! It only takes one to be a teacher. And if no one showed, then you've just been given a dress rehearsal. The second showing will be even better.

4. You will work hard to prepare for your next class and the "wrong" kind of students will show up so you can't use your well-prepared sequence.

The only "wrong" kind of student is one who is not in front of you ready to practice yoga. (See number 3: at least you have people in your class!) Go back to what you know and teach from your heart. You can create a whole class just using sun salutations as a baseline.

5. You will teach a "bad" class (or think you did) and spend the next week ruminating over every little detail.