The 3 Essential Stages Of Personal Growth

The 3 Essential Stages Of Personal Growth Hero Image

My life used to look much different than it does now — for years I was living in fear and I didn't even know it, stuck in every area of my life and blocked from happiness. My pain point got so high that I finally became willing to make a change; I knew there had to be a better way.

I was working in a magazine job that appeared glamorous on the outside, but was toxic on the inside, and it was not aligned with my true calling. I was in a relationship that was no longer working but that I was holding onto tightly, fearful of change and the unknown, and I had emotional imbalances that had me feeling out of control of my own life.

The microcosm of my personal life sat within the macrocosm of the larger world, which is a fear-based reality in which we're programmed and conditioned to think and behave in a certain way, cut off from our divine potential, and filled with many limiting beliefs about who we are and what's possible.

The thing that changed everything? I closed my eyes and became willing to start connecting with my spirit instead of just my mental chatter and the meaningless voices of the world outside of me. Over the past three years, I've subsequently experienced a radical transformation from the inside out, and now I'm on a mission to share what I know, because once we free ourselves from suffering, there's nothing we desire more than to help others do the same.

After experiencing the stages myself, over the years I've also had the privilege of witnessing the transformation process with those in my one-on-one mentoring. From these experiences, I've identified three stages of human evolution.


This blueprint is the path to align with our soul rather than with what the outside world might tell us about who we should be and what we should do.

1. Sleeping stage: We begin with very limited levels of awareness.

We're stuck in a toxic job and/or relationship, and we are unaware or in denial that anything is wrong. We are suffering from physical, mental and emotional ailments, addiction, and living in a state of fear — causing anxiety, doubt, lack and limitation. In this space, we're living in our lower three chakras, which are focused on the physical world, stuck in survival mode, codependent patterns and a reactive approach to the world.

2. Waking up stage: The blessing in disguise.

An area of our lives or a physical, mental or emotional imbalance becomes painful enough that we become willing to do things differently. This is when we begin our path of awakening, healing and self-actualization. Meditation is the medium by which we begin to connect with ourselves in a deeper way and begin the clearing process, dissolving our fears and self-defeating mental patterns and behaviors. We step onto our path of self-love, forgiveness and compassion, and we begin to experience freedom, wholeness and happiness. In this stage we begin to live in our heart chakra.

3. Action stage: Love takes action.

We take full responsibility for choices that will change our lives, and we let go of what is no longer serving us by taking action. Now that we know who we are and what we're here for, we go out into the world, sharing our gifts and passions. We're living in our higher chakras, connected to our intuition, our hearts, our service in the world and the visionary qualities that make us leaders and give us the ability to take courageous action in the world.

Many of us get stuck in the first two stages, with the first stage being the corporate, consumerism-programmed reality, and the second being the New Age movement where we just float around without grounding our new sensibilities with potent creative projects that serve humanity. Without the third stage, we can fall back into the first, and we fail to move forward into our true potential.

As we pioneer our heart-driven path, we will be called to let go of all that no longer serves us. It's not for the faint of heart, but the reward on the other side is beyond anything we can imagine. We clear the fear so that we unleash our creative power. For this we're compensated on every level, both spiritually and materially. We're supported beyond measure when we trust the unseen force that lives within and all around us. Our work is to share our gifts and dare to be seen.

Take the first steps to your best self and download your free copy of The Happiness Blueprint.

Photo Credit: Stocksy

Explore More